Beta Reader Group discussion

Writing Advice & Discussion > Teenage writer: advice?

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Thyssen (rachelthijssen) | 121 comments (WARNING: I tried not to get too personal or make this too long, but it may still be just that! Sorry!)

I am probably going to regret writing this but... I'm the kind of person with expectations that are way too high and I'm worried it might be taking its toll on me.
Here's the problem: I'm a writer trying to find an agent to represent me. Sounds normal, right? Except I'm Dutch, writing in English and I'm 17.
I know at least one person is going to say 'wait until you're older before getting serious about writing' and I appreciate it. Unfortunately, writing is kind of... my anchor to life...? Know what I mean? But the problem I'm facing is that every rejection is another shot to my chest. I am still unstable and realize this, but I just want to follow my dream or heart or whatever you want to call it (wow, that sounds cliché) and turn my life into one I find worth living.

So... my question is, what would you do? If you were a problematic (mentallly unstable?) teenage writer, so to speak, would you get serious and try to find agents/publishers? Or would you wait until a better time?

Thank you very much for reading this post and I hope I didn't come across as a selfish teen too much. And if this post bothers you, please ignore it!

-Rachel

message 2: by Alex (last edited Oct 24, 2016 07:40PM) (new)

Alex (asato) I'd recommend reading Publishing 101. I just bought it. I'm going to start reading it tonight. Jane Friedman was a publisher of Writer's Digest. She has a really good presentation chock full of references for further reading. I just watched it yesterday. http://selfpublishingadvice.org/the-b...
There is so much more vetted and useful info on that website. I've watched about 3 of them so far.