World, Writing, Wealth discussion

All Things Writing & Publishing > Is Traditional Publishing All It's Cracked Up to Be?

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Marie Silk (last edited Oct 21, 2016 06:52AM) (new)

Marie Silk | 1020 comments Hello everyone :)

I am new to the (indie) publishing scene and only began writing and publishing this year. However I read tons of publishing-related material every day and keep coming across this recurring theme: authors wish they had self-published from the beginning instead of going with a publisher.

I have also heard from trad published authors that things have changed in the last decade to where authors are now expected to take on a lot of the marketing themselves. It is written into their contract that they have to do x number of social media posts and x number of interviews etc. to promote their own books!

So...if you are trad published, are you happy with your contract? If you are a hybrid, what are the pros and cons of your published works?

Here is one of the many blogs I've come across that show an author is more successful when taking over the work themselves than when leaving it to their publisher:

https://mythsofthemirror.com/2016/10/...

In the past (especially before the explosion of ebooks), trad publishing may have clearly been the best most lucrative/productive direction for an author...but have things changed so that trad publishing is not all it's cracked up to be anymore?

message 2: by Joanna (new)

Joanna Elm | 145 comments Hi Marie, this is a fascinating topic. I too read a ton of publishing-related material, and having been traditionally published two decades ago, am very interested to see whether the option of self-publishing is worthwhile.
One recent item I read in Jane Friedman's Hot Sheet linked to a post by Bob Mayer, a hybrid author, at writeitforward.com stated: