Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > I *hate* my books! Please give me advice.

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bethany (new)

Bethany Ebert (heart77) | 11 comments So... I've published eleven books now. Looking back, I feel like I pulled them together too fast. Some of the writing is sloppy, I feel like there are a lot of plot points I didn't quite pull together well enough, some boring/nonsense dialogue that needs to be fixed... I just can't stand my old books. I don't like that people can access them because I feel they are a bad example of writing. It was the best I could have done at the time, but I'm a better writer now and I don't want my embarrassing past writings out there in the world anymore.

Does anyone else feel this way? I am so close to just deleting my work from the public eye and going back to the editing phase for a couple of years until I'm happy with my work. Would that be too unprofessional? I don't know what else I can do. I just hate my writing and I need to fix it. I didn't give myself enough time to edit before and it really shows.

message 2: by Christina (new)

Christina McMullen (cmcmullen) Well, to be honest, there's nothing stopping you from pulling and rewriting your books. Tons of authors have. The only issue would be that if you republish, some people might be upset if they buy twice, so unless you simply update the files, make sure you nite the previous title, ISBN/ASIN, etc.

message 3: by Annie (new)

Annie Arcane (anniearcane) | 629 comments Hiya, Joshua!

*waves happily*

Hmm. You totally have lots of options...

1) Leave your stuff as is and write your next book
2) Pull your stuff, toss it, and write your next book
3) Leave your stuff as is, edit it, and release a 2nd edition whenever you're ready
4) Pull your stuff, edit it, and release a 2nd edition whenever you're ready