Twilight (The Twilight Saga, #1) Twilight discussion


5 views
Fantasy Fiction

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Abi (new)

Abi Geisel Book Title: Twilight
Author: Stephenie Meyers
Genre: Fantasy Fiction

Recommendation #1:
Review by School Library Journal Review
Headstrong, sun-loving, 17-year-old Bella declines her mom's invitation to move to Florida, and instead reluctantly opts to move to her dad's cabin in the dreary, rainy town of Forks, WA. She becomes intrigued with Edward Cullen, a distant, stylish, and disarmingly handsome senior, who is also a vampire. When he reveals that his specific clan hunts wildlife instead of humans, Bella deduces that she is safe from his blood-sucking instincts and therefore free to fall hopelessly in love with him. The feeling is mutual, and the resulting volatile romance smolders as they attempt to hide Edward's identity from her family and the rest of the school. Meyer adds an eerie new twist to the mismatched, star-crossed lovers theme: predator falls for prey, human falls for vampire. This tension strips away any pretense readers may have about the everyday teen romance novel, and kissing, touching, and talking take on an entirely new meaning when one small mistake could be life-threatening. Bella and Edward's struggle to make their relationship work becomes a struggle for survival, especially when vampires from an outside clan infiltrate the Cullen territory and head straight for her. As a result, the novel's danger-factor skyrockets as the excitement of secret love and hushed affection morphs into a terrifying race to stay alive. Realistic, subtle, succinct, and easy to follow, Twilight will have readers dying to sink their teeth into it.-Hillias J. Martin, New York Public Library

Recommendation #2:
Review by Booklist Review
Gr. 9-12. In the tradition of Anne Rice and YA titles such as Annette Curtis Klause's The0 Silver Kiss 0 (1999) comes this heady romance that intertwines Bella Swan's life with that of Edward, an alluring and tormented vampire. Bella's life changes when she moves to perpetually rain-soaked Forks, Washington. She is instantly drawn to a fellow student, Edward Cullen, beautiful beyond belief and angrily aloof. Bella senses there is more behind Edward's hostility, and in a plot that slowly and frighteningly unfolds, she learns that Edward and his family are vampires--though they do not hunt humans. Yet Edward cannot promise that his powerful attraction to Bella won't put in her in danger, or worse. Recklessly in love, Bella wants only to be with Edward, but when a vicious, blood-lusting predator complicates her world, Bella's peril is brutally revealed. This is a book of the senses: Edward is first attracted by Bella's scent; ironically, Bella is repelled when she sees blood. Their love is palpable, heightened by their touches, and teens will respond viscerally. There are some flaws here--a plot that could have been tightened, an overreliance on adjectives and adverbs to bolster dialogue--but this dark romance seeps into the soul. --Ilene Cooper

Summary:
Bella Swan moves to Fork, Washington and encounters Edward Cullen, who is a part of a family of vampires. Bella and Edward end up falling in love, but the fact that he is a vampire and survives off of human blood causes a danger for Bella and creates a huge obstacle in any chance of a relationship. This novel involves conflict and suspense attached to a deep, romantic love story. This could be read in older level classrooms as a fantasy book, it provokes a lot of emotion and the action makes you want to keep reading. The author does a great job of satisfying the reader, while also keeping them on their toes. This could be used as an instructional application by allowing students to highly analyze the book, make predictions and connections. Getting readers to think deeper into the text could result in many situational conflicts within the novel, allowing students to test their imagination and question the authors’ decisions.


message 2: by Olivia (new)

Olivia Abi wrote: "Book Title: Twilight
Author: Stephenie Meyers
Genre: Fantasy Fiction

Recommendation #1:
Review by School Library Journal Review
Headstrong, sun-loving, 17-year-old Bella declines her mom's invitat..."


i would think that would be all correct there, and everything that is on top there, it really explans everything from it all happens that in the twi book series that in there.


back to top