Play Book Tag discussion

Do Not Say We Have Nothing
This topic is about Do Not Say We Have Nothing
Archive: Other Books > Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien- 5 stars

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Tracy (tstan) | 1197 comments Oh, my goodness, I loved this book.
It was not an easy book to read, but it was so very worth it!
Set in China, this shows three generations trying to love, survive, and play classical music.
The oldest generation was there when Mao led the peasant revolution after WWII.
The middle generation was there when Mao encouraged students to form the Red Guard in the 60s, terrorizing each other and professors, and condemning whomever they wanted during the Cultural Revolution.
The younger generation was in Tiananmen Square when the Chinese government agreed to meet and listen, then rolled over people with tanks. This part was relevant to me because I was a college student in Iowa at the time, and I remember following that situation very closely.
There are mentions of classical music pieces peppered throughout the book, so I listened to classical while reading this, trying to add some of those pieces to my playlist. Not only did this enhance my experience of the book, reading this book helped me appreciate classical music more.
One example: The Cultural Revolution portion of the book was highly emotionally charged. As I was reading this section, a Shostakovich symphony was playing in entirety (the book happened to mention him a great deal in this section). The emotional rollercoaster I was on during this reading was expressed in the symphony, with the devastating part of the symphony coming with the devastating part of the section.
At that point, I got it. I understand the beauty of classical music more now than ever. I still love me some rock, blues, etc. But I appreciate the beauty and art of a symphony with a newfound ear.