Great Middle Grade Reads discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
ARCHIVES > What shall we read for NOVEMBER?

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jemima (last edited Oct 01, 2016 01:25PM) (new)

Jemima Pett | 1282 comments Mod
As usual, we spend half this month nominating books for the November BOTM, then vote on them in a one or two stage process depending on how many nominations there are.

So here we go.

November is a funny month; spring in Australia, Bonfire Night in the UK, Thanksgiving in the US. I'm not that good at themes anyway - but how about a theme of 'conflict' which you can interpret as widely as you like. Of course, most books involve some sort of conflict - just make it interesting, and for MG (not YA dressed up).

- ONE book title
- in the theme CONFLICT,
- suitable for MG readers (i.e. listed as MG on Goodreads' readers shelves)
- easily accessible (i.e. in libraries or as low cost paperbacks)

If you can link your nomination to the Goodreads page using the 'add book/author' tool just above the comments writing box, so much the better. Then people can easily check the blurb etc for themselves.

Please try not to nominate anything we've read in the last two years. You can check our BOTM all-time list in this BOTM Discussion thread.

I'll set up the poll around 18th or 20th October, depending on how many nominations there are.

I suggest that if we have a tie at the end of the voting process, rather than pick two books, I give a casting vote. I reckon that it was okay for the books we were reading over two months, but in one month, having a choice seemed to squash participation. What do you think of that idea?

message 2: by Justine (new)