Black Girls Read! discussion

Other Side
This topic is about Other Side
Friends, Family and Colleagues

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ray (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ray Hollar-Gregory | 9 comments I am a new fiction writer, and similar to many of you I anxiously thought about how my work would be received by family, friends and other colleagues. The anxiety was based on my anticipation of their perceptions to the themes and characters development. Would the depraved immoral acts of my protagonist be interpreted as a memoir, biographical depiction of my life and me? How will family react? I had to ask myself if, in fact, that’s who I was and used fiction for cover. Only when I accepted that my writing was greater than me, was I able to move forward and publish; notwithstanding speculation, opining and criticisms both positive and negative. It unchained and freed my creativity to enter a dimension I had not experienced before. I was a writer expressing not my story but channeling universal themes and life situations. The community of human existence/experience is not always pleasant--but such is life.