Dragons & Jetpacks discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archive > Getting into comic books

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kritika (new)

Kritika (spidersilksnowflakes) I'm not exactly new to the group but I haven't been super active...so hi!

I want to get into superhero comics, but I have no idea where to start! One of my friends said I might like Captain Marvel, but there are so many series and alternate universes and whatnot.... how does one begin??

I've read a couple of standalone graphic novels before, like Watchmen and Bone, but I haven't read any major serial comic books so I'm a total newbie to the comic world. Any help/advice would be much appreciated!

message 2: by Freya, Dragon Rider (new)

Freya (flamecat) | 1832 comments Mod
Hi Kritika! :)

I can't help you, but this thread might!

message 3: by paolojackson (new)

paolojackson Sagullo | 5 comments For Marvel, you can pick up right after Secret Wars. For DC you can start with Rebirth. No matter where you begin, there is going to be a learning curve. I would just jump right in. Are there any characters you like? Start with them. You can find lists of their best story arcs.

I don't read much DC but for current Marvel you should definitely check out Vision and All-New Wolverine. Matt Fraction's Hawkeye was also incredible.

message 4: by Kritika (new)

Kritika (spidersilksnowflakes) thanks Freya, that thread is exactly what I was looking for! and thank you Paolo for the recommendations!

message 5: by Rosie (new)

Rosie B Ms. Marvel is an amazing comic for beginners. The first trade paperback is called "No Normal". It follows a Pakistani-American teenager who suddenly gets super powers and has to figure out how to be a super hero.

message 6: by Freya, Dragon Rider (new)

Freya (flamecat) | 1832 comments Mod
No problem :)

message 7: by Kritika (new)