Beta Reader Group discussion

Writing Advice & Discussion > Grammar help!

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Molly (last edited Jul 30, 2016 04:31PM) (new)

Molly Mulligan Can anyone take a quick look at my query letter just to make sure there are no grammar mistakes I've overlooked? Its only 275 words. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

message 2: by Annette (new)

Annette Abernathy | 158 comments Since you're reading my book I can look at your letter. Just send it to me.

message 3: by Martin (new)

Martin Rinehart Post it here, Molly. You've got 12k characters. Just make sure you're unambiguous about your genre in the post title so we know whether to skip over it.

message 4: by Molly (new)

Molly Mulligan Thanks Martin! I've pasted what I've got so far. This is my first time writing a query letter so any advice is much appreciated.

I'm seeking representation for WENDY, an 85,000 word magical realism young adult novel and re-imagining of the classic Peter Pan story. I'm submitting to you because I noted that you were seeking magical realism and stories featuring unique female protagonists, and hoped that WENDY might be of interest to you.

Twenty-two-year-old Wendy has recently graduated from college with a bachelor's degree in biology. Her life has always been explainable by science.....Until now.

While traveling through New Zealand to heal from the untimely death of her parents and seek adventure, Wendy's logical world is turned upside down when she finds herself transported to an alternate universe.