All About Books discussion

Upcoming Monthly Reads > August 2016 - What will you be reading?

Comments Showing 1-47 of 47 (47 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Gill (last edited Jul 29, 2016 07:12AM) (new)

Gill | 5720 comments What books are you hoping to read in August? Share your plans here.

message 2: by Myst (last edited Aug 25, 2016 09:29AM) (new)

message 3: by Marina (new)

Marina (sonnenbarke) I do have some plans, but I don't know if I'll stick to them. Anyway, I'd like to read:

The Light Fantastic
The Cuckoo's Calling
A Storm of Swords
Treasure Hunt
Angelica's Smile

As you see, they are all light reads, but that's exactly what I need for the coming month. I've been working like crazy for the past two months and I need something relaxing.

message 4: by Chrissie (last edited Aug 31, 2016 11:39AM) (new)

Chrissie First I have to finish off the books I didn't have time for last month:
1.The Silver Dark Sea 4 stars
2.The Architect's Apprentice 4 stars read
3.Thunder At Twilight: Vienna 1913/1914 2 stars

Then I will continue with :
4. The Dust That Falls from Dreams 3 stars read
5.The Return: Fathers, Sons, and the Land in Between 4 stars
6. Charles Dickens 4 stars read
7. The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman 1 star read
8. The Sound and the Fury 3 stars read
9.The Great Fortune and the rest of the series if I like this. Started, but completed in September!
10. Under the Sea Wind 4 stars read

ETA:
11. My Family and Other Animals 4 stars read
(Offered as a daily deal at Audible.uk on Aug 11th.

Books 3, 5, 6, 10 and 11 are non-fiction.

message 6: by Alice (new)

Alice Poon (alice_poon) My tentative plan for August:-

Antigone by Jean Anouilh (I've ordered from the library both the French and the English versions)
The Confessions of Catherine de Medici by C.W. Gortner
In the Company of the Courtesan by Sarah Dunant

message 7: by Pink (last edited Sep 01, 2016 02:54AM) (new)

Pink I have small plans for August -