Support for Indie Authors discussion

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Luke (new)

Luke Gracias | 41 comments Hi
I am a first time writer and have released my debut novel The Devil's Prayer in mid Feb this year as an e book.
I have a marketing related question. What do you consider in terms of ballpark numbers for the following:
minimum audience which has read your book( minimum sales)
reviewed your book, (minimum reviews on amazon)
minimum blog reviews
from which point your book starts to sell by word of mouth.

I realise it is highly dependent on the reviews being reasonably positive and how popular the blogs are. I am a long long way from reaching any of these but its nice to have some targets. Appreciate any advice.
Thanks

message 2: by Anthony Deeney (new)

Anthony Deeney | 437 comments Hi Luke,

Your book starts selling by word of mouth almost immediately after it is read, but I think your term "Critical Mass" referring to the idea of a Nuclear Reaction.

That is below critical mass all chain reactions fizzle out. At critical mass a sustained reaction is achieved that may slowly "take off" and eventually, if unchecked, explode.

I think that there is merits to this theory. It is what publishers are trying to achieve with a big splash of advertising on launch.

It has happened for some self published authors.

However, It is extremely uncommon for self published authors, as advertising is expensive and the market is crowded.

I confess that I held this view of self publishing myself, I still do, to an extent, but I have been more realistic.

I originally believed that a really good book will "be found" inevitably. Eventually. Cream rises to the top, right? However, that truth is that there are a lot of really good books!

So that means that a really good book joins the cream and struggles to rise further.