UK Amazon Kindle Forum discussion

Meet the Authors > Hi, I'm Michael Whateley

Comments Showing 1-50 of 71 (71 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Michael (new)

Michael Whateley | 54 comments I'd like to introduce myself. My kennel name is Michael Whateley, but please, call me Mike.

Currently, I am a trucker. But most of my life was spent as a computer programmer. I've worked on many of the things you use every day. Co-op loyalty card, tills, cash cards used in schools, even fruit machines.

So I used to have an outlet for my creative spark. After the financial crisis, I had to struggle and adapt to stay in work. Currently I am a truck driver. Good job. Good pay. But not very creative. Now I write to allow my creative spirit to breathe.

I have just released a collection of twelve short horror stories called 666. I felt inspired to write that after my daughter read a short horror story of mine. I had written it for a forum I used to be a member of. I enjoyed the experience and I am happy with the result. Although I did have a few nightmares. But they just ended up in the book too. I found a wonderful editor, and cover designer for the project. I intend to use them again. I also found a way of sneaking my own, wicked, sense of humour into one of the character. Leonard Reuban, a very sarcastic grim reaper. One of my favourite characters in the book.

Currently I am working on a much longer piece called Desert Swarm. This is based on an ex military character called Stephen Blackwood. Stephen has a charter boat that he lives on in Scotland. Because of his military connections, he finds himself mixed up in a race to stop a rogue General. Action, Adventure, shooting, explosions. That sort of thing.