World, Writing, Wealth discussion

All Things Writing & Publishing > Do you introduce yourself as writers?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 51 (51 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Nik (new)

Nik Krasno | 15743 comments Unfortunately unless you are happily retired, born prince or princess or married to one, very few can afford writing as a prime occupation. But do you present yourself as writers (as a first choice), when you meet people or go by first profession? Do you have 'writer' business cards?

Tara Woods Turner | 2063 comments I only have one title under my belt so far so it's 'I'm Tara. I wrote a book'. With more titles it will be 'I'm Tara. I'm a writer/author". The amount of income you make from writing has nothing to do with it.

message 3: by G.L. (new)

G.L. Wilson | 3 comments I've been writing on and off for years. I've have had agents (for theatre and books) and still would't introduce myself as a writer. For staters people always ask, have you written anything I know? I haven't. And invariably, once it turns out that you're not Ian McEwan, people glance at you sideways as if you're a fantasist, a person to be avoided at all costs. There reasoning being? Anyone can call themselves a writer but people who do so might just be attention seeking.
However, that said, of course I'm a writer. It's the thing I always come back to. It's something i've worked at for years. It's rewarding, frustrating, challenging but, most importantly, essential to me.
So, I never bother saying I'm a writer, although ironically a lot of people know that I am and they actually seek me out and ask me about the writing!

message 4: by Nik (new)

Nik Krasno | 15743 comments Yeah, I also don't actively mention writing unless addressed in that context, so the clients won't think I lost my marbles and I feel a little bit of recognition is still desirable in order not to explain at length what exactly you've written... -:)

message 5: by Marie Silk (new)