HPL Reads Book Club discussion

Welcome aboard! > Just say howdy!

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Houston (new)

Houston Library (hplreadsonlinebookclub) | 134 comments Mod
Please introduce yourself to our group. Name your favorite book or author, the best book you've read in the last year, and your favorite book-to-movie adaptation.

message 2: by HPL Dan (last edited Jul 19, 2016 08:20AM) (new)

HPL Dan (HPLDan) Hi guys! I'm excited to be part of our new online book club. My name is Dan, and I'm a librarian at HPL. I'm a huge comic book reader, and my favorite author is definitely Neil Gaiman. I love his graphic novel series The Sandman and several of his other novels for children and adults, especially American Gods and The Graveyard Book. The best book I've read this past year is Benjamin Alire Saenz's novel Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. My favorite screen adaptation of a book is probably Alfonso Cuaron's version of Harry Potter: The Prisoner of Azkaban, although a slightly less direct adaptation that I really loved was Chris Nolan's The Dark Knight. Another favorite book-to-screen adaptation is Josh Boone's adaptation of The Fault in Our Stars.

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

Hey! I'm Lauren and I've been a librarian since 2012. I've been with Houston Public Library since January 2015. My favorite author is John Green, because he seriously knows his way around a sentence, and my favorite book...I have no idea. There are too many things to read in the world and I probably haven't discovered my favorite book yet. The best book of 2016 so far has been Faithful Place by Tana French, and my favorite book-to-screen adaptation is either any of the Harry Potter series or Game of Thrones. Which reminds me:

LET'S GO GEORGE R.R. MARTIN!!

message 4: by Carolina (new)