Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Marketing No New Posts > Is it too soon to think about holiday marketing?

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Tara Woods Turner Tis the season to soak up the sun with a good beach read and a cold drink but time flies, as the saying goes. Is it too soon to prep for potential holiday shoppers looking for their next great read? Paperbacks trump ebooks as gifts for obvious reasons so will this affect sales? I'm a newbie so have no experience here so would love your feedback :)

message 2: by Roxanne (new)

Roxanne Bland (roxanne2) | 102 comments My understanding is that most publishing houses start marketing print books for Christmas the 1st of October. So it would seem you still have plenty of time, but I'd go ahead and start, just to make sure everything's in place at zero hour. As for whether paperbacks trumping ebooks will affect sales, do you have an ebook or a paperback?

Tara Woods Turner Ebook, paperback and audio. I was thinking about trying to sell to some children's boutiques for the holidays (I have a parenting book).

message 4: by Roxanne (new)

Roxanne Bland (roxanne2) | 102 comments I'm not sure how you'd market an e- or audio book unless the store had an internet kiosk where the books could be downloaded. But if you want to get print books into the store, I'd start inquiring now, to see if they'd be receptive to the idea. That way, even if you have to wait until October to get your books in the stores, you'd have your list in place. I mean, it's the middle of July, and they're getting (or already have) stuff in for the fall--back to school and all that. The end-of-summer sales will be starting probably in a couple of weeks, if not sooner. So yes, I'd be looking for venues now.

Tara Woods Turner Agree. Thank you :)

message 6: by Justin (new)