Addicted to YA discussion

Recommendations > Looking for YA books with sexual abuse themes

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Gracin (new)

Gracin | 13 comments Hi there. I'm a YA writer and reader and am looking for more books in a very narrow genre. I'm not into paranormal, fantasy or distopian society. The more realistic, the better.

Here's what I've read in this genre already. For some of these, it's been a while since I read them and it's hard to remember if they carried the sexual abuse theme or not. Forgive me if I remember wrong. :)

Stay, Deb Caletti
The Sea of Tranquility, Katja Millay
The Language of Flowers, Vanessa Diffenbaugh
Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson
Some Boys, Patty Blount
She's Come Undone, Wally Lamb
Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher

Thank you in advance!

message 3: by Gracin (new)

Gracin | 13 comments Thanks, Jessica. Apparently I have that on my to-read list. Bumping it up! :)

message 4: by Jade (new)

Jade (jademh7) Some I have recently read are:

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

All the Rage by Courtney Summers

What We Saw by Aaron Hertzler

All these books touch on rape culture in our world today and they are interesting reads.

message 5: by Gracin (new)

Gracin | 13 comments Thanks so much, Jade! Adding them.

message 6: by Erica (new)

Erica Fosmoe (ericaejw968) | 1 comments Try Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott. It is a different take on sexual abuse and child abduction.

message 7: by Gracin (new)

Gracin | 13 comments Thanks, Erica! I'll check it out.

message 8: by Nicole (new)

Nicole (nics2) | 106 comments hopeless is pretty famous, actually I'm not a big fan , but I admit that it is entertaining and really disturbing. It's by colleen Hoover btw

message 9: by Gracin (new)

Gracin | 13 comments I've got that one on my list already, too. Thanks for reminding me. :)

message 10: by J.S. (new)