Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > Would you be offended?

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Reber | 181 comments So I've been an author for a year, a writer for my lifetime. I publish under my maiden name, which is listed on my cover photo along with all my books on all my social media sites. Along with the fact I post frequently with links to my books etc. So it should be easy, if you're interested, to find my stuff.

I just got a message from a woman I've known most of my life, who is in the process of publishing a children's book. I suggested self-publishing, but she chose the traditional route. So her message was saying that her publisher won't even consider publishing her unless she has 1000 likes on her FB page and she wants me to ask my people to like her page, but she gives this long speech she wants me to copy and paste. (Way too wordy and irritating, IMO)

So she starts the message out with, your support means the world to me, would you please send me a link to your books, because I'd love to read one. She started out with that, then went into the sales pitch. Now, I'm an indie author, obviously. I just posted the link to the Hash's Bash on all my pages etc, where if she had ACTUAL interest in my work, she could've gotten my books for free. I also have the link to my newest book pinned to the top of my author page.

Is it unreasonable of me to be offended by her? I know I should be supportive, but it irritated me. Should I just suck it up and be the better person, post her link and all, or ignore her since she's really just pretending interest in my work so I'll help her??

message 2: by Dwayne, Head of Lettuce (new)

Dwayne Fry | 4353 comments Mod