Support for Indie Authors discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archived > "Rave On" blurb

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dwayne, Head of Lettuce (last edited Jun 29, 2016 12:15PM) (new)

Dwayne Fry | 4353 comments Mod
Working on my first really real novel and this is the blurb I'm thinking of using. Thoughts?

"Buddy Holly died near my farm, long before I was born, on a cold February day. Some say that was the day the music died. I disagree. We lost three good singers in that crash, but their music lives on. Me and my band, The Velvet Bullets, are seeing to that.

"I'm Del Brewer. I work as a cook in a seafood dive. My Mama don't cut me no slack, ever, and Daddy don't know who I am some days. Life ain't great, but so far it ain't nothing I can't handle.

"Not until she showed up. A mysterious gal with red hair, doing magic tricks in a Laundromat at five o'clock on a Sunday morning. Never thought I'd fall in love, but I fell for her so hard my chin got stuck to the floor. Problem is, she don't have time for me. She might be the first problem I ever encountered that I can't charm, cheat or fight my way out of."

message 2: by Ken (new)

Ken Doggett (kendoggett) I like it. Of course, I've always been a Buddy Holly fan. Richie Valens was pretty good, too.

The blurb makes it all sound interesting.

message 3: by Morris (new)

Morris Graham (morris_g) Nice. It makes you want to read more.

message 4: by Dwayne, Head of Lettuce (last edited Jun 29, 2016 01:09PM) (new)

Ken wrote: "I like it. Of course, I've always been a Buddy Holly fan. Richie Valens was pretty good, too."

Yes, Ritchie was fabulous. Del talks a bit about him, and the Big Bopper, during the course of the book, along with many of the rockabilly / rock acts of the past and a few from the present.