The Gothic Novel Book Club <Hiatus> discussion

Book of the Month > Nominations For BOTM August (Modern)

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Trinity (new)

Trinity | 803 comments Mod
It's that time.

message 2: by Trinity (new)

I'm going for it... The Witching Hour

message 3: by Natalie (new)

Natalie Carey (janeefficiency) | 43 comments Not sure if people are interested in these, and they are long as well, but how about Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, or Imajica?

I haven't heard of that Gaiman book, but supporting the encouragement of reading is always great!

I've also been meaning to read The Witching Hour, but my reading has taken a back seat this summer (and my activity here too, unfortunately!) since I'm studying for the GRE, but there are a few books I'm going to use as study aids for vocab and complex sentence structure, etc., like Johnathan Strange, The Fellowship of the Ring, and The Sparrow. I thought Johnathan Strange might be the most appropriate for our group? But whatever is chosen, I'll try to get to it toward the end of August (since I'm taking the test around then). :)

message 4: by Helen (new)

Helen (read247_instyle_inca) (read247_instyle_inca) Sea of Secrets
I am new to the group, but have been eyeing this book by Amanda DeWees.

Follow Oriel's captivating story as it unfolds in Sea of Secrets and see for yourself why this Victorian romantic suspense novel by Amanda DeWees has been so enthusiastically applauded by fans of Victorian mystery, traditional gothic romance, and historical romance alike. Intelligent and courageous, with a dry sense of humor, Oriel is a heroine wise beyond her years yet inexperienced in the ways of the world. You won't want to miss her thrilling journey through the perils of her new life--and the deadly secrets from the past.

message 5: by Trinity (new)