Indie Author Collaboration discussion

Marketing and audience > Is Twitter Worth It?

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Erin (new)

Erin Lockwood (erinlockwood) | 4 comments Hello,

I'm a first time author. I'm trying to build my platform. Hard, because I haven't written anything until now. I started a twitter page. I don't have any followers yet and I hate twitter. It seems so pointless to me and it's a pain to think I have to keep up with another social media outlet. Things seem to be going well with my book's facebook page. Do I really need twitter? Is facebook enough?

Thanks! Erin

message 2: by A.C. (new)

A.C. Weston (acwestonwrites) | 2 comments Hi Erin! I did the same thing when I started twitter - I tweeted about 3 times and then gave up for at least a year. I didn't see the point.

But then I tried again, and you should, too! It's not going to be the main way you get orders, but it's one avenue where you can build up some legitimacy by being constantly active. If you tweet, followers will come. You just have to tweet in the hashtags where people that you want to follow you hang out - I usually stick to #amwriting, #books, #scifi, etc.

I think the key is to not just tweet about your book all the time. It's a good way to promote other people, and then they might talk with you and you could meet some friends. It's how I met my best Inkshares friends! They just responded to a few of my tweets and we got to talking.

Twitter is also a great way to make connections with other authors outside of Inkshares, who are maybe even heroes of yours. A lot of people are on twitter, and if you're not just all about ME ME ME MY BOOK MY BOOK MY BOOK and you have some interesting or funny things to say, and/or useful things to share, people will engage with you.

Twitter's not the only thing you should focus on, but it's a way to add to your platform. Tell us your handle, and maybe we'll follow you!