Horror Aficionados discussion

Greener Pastures
This topic is about Greener Pastures
Author/Publisher/Etc. Promotion > Greener Pastures

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michael (new)

Michael Wehunt (michaelwehunt) | 8 comments I'm new to this lovely group (and already bought a book based on a recommendation I saw!) but wanted to shout a little bit about my debut short fiction collection, Greener Pastures, which was put out by Shock Totem Publications. It's been in the world going on three months and, so far, has been received well enough to make me very happy. 31 Amazon reviews, 28 on Goodreads, nearly all positive, and some great press reviews as well. Just yesterday, Fangoria gave the book a glowing review, which pretty much made my year: http://www.fangoria.com/new/greener-p...

What's the deal with it, you ask? Paul Tremblay calls it "a wonderful collection of quietly creepy tales that are mature and smart enough to let their effects linger." Steve Rasnic Tem says, "It's one of the finest debuts I've read in years." These 11 stories range from traditional horror to dark fantasy to weird fiction to a bit of Southern Gothic, all with a literary intention that hopes to examine characters that feel real and have real problems. I look at different kinds of darkness--grief, abuse, transformation, found-footage horror, things living in the earth and things falling from the sky.

Two of these stories made the shortlist in Ellen Datlow's Best Horror of the Year (vols. 7 and 8), and one story, "The Devil Under the Maison Blue," is being reprinted this year in Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror and Year's Best Weird Fiction.

Please forgive the rambling! If this sounds like your cup of dark tea, I appreciate your interest!

Char  | 16720 comments Mod
Hi, Michael and welcome to HA!

I read and LOVED Greener Pastures and highly recommend it to fans of horror.

Best of luck to you. :)