Children's Lit Summer 2016 Grad White discussion

The Ghost of Graylock
This topic is about The Ghost of Graylock
De Zeeuw Digital Book Promotion

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Camille (last edited Jun 20, 2016 10:48AM) (new)

Camille De Zeeuw | 4 comments My digital book promotion: https://animoto.com/play/TTnSZG90k4yu...

1, I chose this book because it is way out of my comfort level. Ghosts and anything scary are NOT for me. I scared the pants off myself putting together the digital promotion! Why put myself through this kind of torture? If I want to be able to promote a variety of books in my library someday, I want to be able to personally recommend books to students. This promotion goes beyond the books I like and feel comfortable reading.
2, I chose Animoto because I have never used it before. As a future librarian, I want to have experience with as many digital applications as I can.
3, Animoto is very easy to use. The site is very user-friendly and simple. I had a harder time deciding on pictures I was going to add than learning how to use Animoto!
4. The book is scary and suspenseful; therefore, I wanted my music and images to represent those characteristics. I also wanted the images to highlight some of the pieces of the story and heighten curiosity. When I am choosing a book, I like to be drawn in by the summary but not given too much information. I tried to make my text simple yet informational and enticing.
5. Currently, I teach fifth and sixth grade science and social studies. I would like to make promotions for different sections of our textbook, especially in sixth grade when we learn about United States history. Also, I would like to have my students make their own book promotions in order to get fellow students interested in new authors and genres.