Advanced Copies for Review & Book Giveaways discussion

Group Discussion > beta reading & copyright

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Elodie (new)

Elodie Hi, all! A question.
If you'll give a beta reader your manuscript, isn't there a risk that the beta reader could simply "take" it? Because the copyright isn't published yet. How do you make sure that no one "steals" it?
Don't get me wrong: I would trust my beta readers not to do that. But writing a book is too much work to get into trouble because of something like that later.
Thanks for your answers!

message 2: by Segilola (new)

Segilola Salami (segilolasalami) | 41 comments I'm no expert so take what I say with a pinch of salt but unless you physically hand over a paper copy of your manuscript to the beta reader, you can always prove the timeline should you need to in future.

By this, you can always prove the date and time you originally emailed a copy to the beta reader, which would go a long way to proving that you were the original writer. Just make sure that you do not delete said email.

Also, why I never bother too much myself is because a beta read is just a draft copy. My final work tends to be different to the first draft. I intentionally leave things out of it too.

With my latest book, another thing that I did was put it as available for pre-order even before I wrote a first line. So if a dishonest beta reader tried to steal said work, the title and my name have been linked together well before the thief can put his out. That will be used as a time stamp putting me as the original creator of the work

Just my 2 cents

message 3: by Beth Durkee (new)