The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > Hello from the piney woods of north Florida

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by A.E. (new)

A.E. Howe | 10 comments I'm Allie, I've been a mystery lover since I started reading Poe as a child riding around in the back of our station wagon in the early 1970's. During high school I sit in the back of class reading Agatha Christie and in college it was Rex Stout and Ed McBain. I love the Alex Delaware books and am embarrassed, as a guy under sixty, to admit that I have read all the Cat Who books. I've also read the dragon tattoo books and others.

I am also a writer I've had a screenplay produced and several optioned and have recently jumped into the indie author market with a thriller last year and a mystery series this year (two are live, one is done and with the editor and I'm working on the fourth). One of the worst things about trying to write fast enough to make money is that I find it hard to read and write. I can't follow another author's plot while I have one I'm working on in my head. I have the latest Kellerman book sitting on my couch unread. I'm going to have to find a way to achieve a balance.

Feel free to friend me or ask me questions.

Cheers to all.

message 2: by Nancy, Co-Moderator (new)

Nancy Oakes (quinnsmom) | 8557 comments Mod
Welcome, Allie, from the south coast of Florida!

message 3: by A.E. (new)

A.E. Howe | 10 comments Thank you Nancy. Floridians are everywhere and not just in the weird news section of the paper :)

message 4: by Nancy, Co-Moderator (new)

A.E. wrote: "Thank you Nancy. Floridians are everywhere and not just in the weird news section of the paper :)"

but you do have to admit there are a LOT of articles that start out with

"A Florida Man...."

message 5: by A.E. (new)

A.E. Howe | 10 comments Yep and the reality is often crazier than a Carl Hiaasen plot. LOL