SFF180 presents the Virga Readalong! discussion

Book 1: SUN OF SUNS discussion

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Thomas (new)

Thomas Wagner (sff180) | 7 comments Mod
This thread is for open discussion of SUN OF SUNS, the first book in the VIRGA series and the first half of the bind-up edition Virga: Cities of the Air. What are your initial impressions of the world that Schroeder has created?

message 2: by Frank (new)

Frank | 3 comments Schroeder has created a world that reminded me of Larry Niven.s Ringworld, very fascinating with an adventure feel that was lacking in Ringworld.

message 3: by Marc (new)

Marc | 12 comments Like I said in my intro. I'm pretty new to SF/F - so I don't mean this to be troll-y - I just finished book one - if someone had handed me this book and not told me anything about it, I'd of never gave it the SciFi label. Why is this Sci-Fi? To my eyes its a YA Aubrey/Maturin Fantasy - it reminds me most of the world of Six of Crows, to name something I've read recently - Victorian/Napoleanic, almost steampunk but no Zeppelins YA fantasy - is this considered SciFi because they are in space?

message 4: by Thomas (new)

Virga itself is an SFnal concept, as are elements within its environment (the fusion "suns"). The story itself operates within a classic adventure template. Part of why I chose this series for an SF readalong is that it tells the sort of story that might be more accessible to fantasy readers as well as noobs to science fiction generally, whereas a traditional hard SF story might have been a bit too technical to have broad appeal. So it's fair to say Sun of Suns straddles a few genres.

message 5: by Marc (new)

Marc | 12 comments Thomas wrote: "Virga itself is an SFnal concept, as are elements within its environment (the fusion "suns"). The story itself operates within a classic adventure template. Part of why I chose this series for an S..."