Goodreads Italia discussion

Off-Topic > Talk me through an Italian classic

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Travelin (new)

Travelin | 2 comments Hello. I have basic-to-intermediate spoken Italian and fair-to-poor reading comprehension. I'm looking for someone who wants to go through an Italian classic page-by-page to improve our understanding and my Italian. Right now I have a history of Sicily, a famous novel about the mafia, and several works by Pirandello.

I am a former English teacher and can do the same for you or whatever.

message 2: by Roberta (new)

Roberta (driope) | 5843 comments Mod
I do love sicilian authors as well, but I don't recommend them for a page-by-page reading. There's too much local lingo, I consider sicilian a language and not a mere dialect.
The history book is probably the more standardize text, but I can pick up some short novels for you if you like

message 3: by Rosenkavalier (last edited May 09, 2014 03:25AM) (new)

Rosenkavalier | 189 comments Travelin, I agree with Roberta.

Besides the "lingo" issue, take into account that Pirandello wrote in a rather elaborate way and his novels are full of complicated philosophical issues, not really recommended for a reader with a "fair-to-poor reading comprehension".

If I may make a comparison, when I was in my first period of Spanish studies I read "The Aleph" by Borges and found it a very frustrating experience.

Maybe some short novels would be a better way to start. Unfortunately, I cannot help you. Good luck with your search.

message 4: by Roberta (new)

Roberta (driope) | 5843 comments Mod
I teache dItalian to a Scot couple. I will help, but I need to go to my parents' house this weekend and retrive some papers

message 5: by Travelin (new)

Travelin | 2 comments Roberta wrote: "I teache dItalian to a Scot couple. I will help, but I need to go to my parents' house this weekend and retrive some papers"