The Backlot Gay Book Forum discussion

Everything Else > Question for Authors

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by D. (new)

D. River | 74 comments I am an author myself, and so I have come to understand how serious a negative review is. On top of the way it sucks to see someone didn't enjoy your story, it can dissuade people from buying your book.

So my question is, would you prefer people to give your books the one or two star review they feel it deserves or would you prefer people just not write a review at all?

My policy has become to just not write a review anymore unless it's a 3 star or above book. But as Amazon keeps pestering me about reviews, I started to wonder if that was fair.

Thoughts?

message 2: by Robert (new)

Robert Dunbar | 78 comments Mostly, I just wish everyone would stop referring to these user comments as "reviews." I've written hundreds of reviews for various sites and newspapers and magazines: it was a noble calling once. A discipline. Even an art form. Now...

message 3: by D. (new)

D. River | 74 comments Robert wrote: "Mostly, I just wish everyone would stop referring to these user comments as "reviews." I've written hundreds of reviews for various sites and newspapers and magazines: it was a noble calling once. ..."

Well, Robert, I have also done book reviews for a website and I do consider my comments to be reviews. I don't rehash the plot. Instead, I try to give an analysis of the good and the bad of the book.

message 4: by Robert (new)

Robert Dunbar | 78 comments Oh, I know. There are good folks out there being conscientious. But the bulk of it always reads like the kind of customer comments one used to see on the Sears site about potholders and such. I blame Amazon.

message 5: by Keira (new)