Speculative Fiction For Christians discussion

Topics Of Interest > Focus in fantasy

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tori (new)

Tori Rainn (tori0099) As a curious fellow writer I'd like to know what is your ultimate goal as you write a fantasy for the Christian market?

message 2: by Anne (new)

Anne Hamilton (annehamilton) | 2 comments One of my goals is to re-introduce Christians to biblical concepts that have almost vanished outside of fantasy: for example, the power of names to prophesy identity and destiny (name covenants), the importance of invitation in threshold crossing (cornerstone covenant) and other lost ideas like these.

message 3: by Tedd (new)

Tedd Galloway (TeddGalloway) | 5 comments At times fantasy and reality comingle. We can not see what the other side of this present world is accomplishing.

message 4: by C.E. (new)

C.E. Martin (cemartin2) | 8 comments I want to write fiction that is for everyone, but that won't be anti-christian like so much stuff out there today. Something that won't endorse anti-christian views, and which pushes the same values we Christians have, while still having one foot firmly in popculture.

message 5: by Tedd (new)

Tedd Galloway (TeddGalloway) | 5 comments C.E. wrote: "I want to write fiction that is for everyone, but that won't be anti-christian like so much stuff out there today. Something that won't endorse anti-christian views, and which pushes the same value..."

Write about unvarnished real life. Know what Christians struggle with, what troubles them. We can all relate to that.

message 6: by C.E. (new)

C.E. Martin (cemartin2) | 8 comments Why would anyone want to read about real life? Fantasy is a break from the tedium of our daily lives.

message 7: by Tedd (new)

Tedd Galloway (TeddGalloway) | 5 comments C.E. wrote: "Why would anyone want to read about real life? Fantasy is a break from the tedium of our daily lives."