Beta / Proof Readers discussion

General > Beta Reader Etiquette

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jerry (new)

Jerry (yjerry) Great work,is a good advice.

message 2: by Crystal (new)

Crystal | 9 comments This is really good! Beta expectations were outlined clearly. Thank you!

message 3: by Robin (new)

Robin Glassey | 5 comments Thanks for this advise on Beta Reader Etiquette. I especially love the reminder about line edits. I'm always so tempted to do line edits - it's like an annoying itch I have to scratch. But if it isn't what they asked for, then I have to respect that.

message 4: by Ellen (new)

Ellen | 27 comments Thanks for this. I have questioned wether the writers I read for, think I am doing a good job or not. I have always gotten appreciation, but none have ever told me if I did ok or what they expected of me. Also, I'm kind of new at this. I am most proficient at catching spelling, grammar and sentence structure issues.

Roughseasinthemed | 27 comments Mostly, beta reading isn't about the detail. It's what did I think to this book, why did I like/dislike it? What about the characters? Plot? Pacing? Structure?

Yes, some authors may want detail and tbh, I provide that as well, but I concentrate on the bigger issues.

Do you check with your authors what they want? How you are going to respond? Basically, a beta read isn't a free proofread.

message 6: by Scarlet (new)

Scarlet Darkwood (scarletdarkwood) | 2 comments These are great pointers.

message 7: by Ben Hoover (new)

Ben Hoover | 6 comments Another thing that I'd ask if it is okay to clarify? Beta's are really a form of developmental editor in most instances, and as such, as roughseasinthemed stated, as an author I want their feedback on the big picture, not the minutiae of the line by line.