Goliverse discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Book of The Month Discussion > The Fellowship of the Ring - June 2016

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Nicole (new)

Nicole  (co984life) | 115 comments Mod
Here is the thread for June's book of the month.

message 2: by Amy (new)

Amy Wishman Nalan This is my first time participating in the book club. I just finished listening to the audio book of Fellowship a few weeks ago. I've read the trilogy numerous times. I also just finished a Game of Thrones for the first time, and it is so interesting to see how influential Tolkien was in that book. Middle Earth is so amazingly detailed you immediately are immersed; which is kind of counter-intuitive.

message 3: by Matt (new)

Matt | 150 comments I'm curious, are people reading the front matter ("Concerning Hobbits," and all that), or just skipping straight to Chapter 1?

message 4: by Matt (new)

Matt | 150 comments There's a lot of good stuff there, and some interesting retcon by Tolkien. As he transitions from the Hobbit, which was sort of accidentally and peripherally connected to the larger Book of Lost Tales/Silmarillion legend he was creating, he has to reconcile some things. How Hobbits fit into the rest of the world, why they make references to a king, when the kingdom had failed centuries earlier, why we wont see trolls talking and being easily fooled anymore, and most importantly, substantially changing the story of how Bilbo gets the Ring. And he does it all in a way that fits in the universe.

message 5: by Amy (new)

Amy Wishman Nalan Matt wrote: "There's a lot of good stuff there, and some interesting retcon by Tolkien. As he transitions from the Hobbit, which was sort of accidentally and peripherally connected to the larger Book of Lost Ta..."