Coffee & Books discussion

Discussion Archives > May 2014: The Goldfinch

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rachel Jorquera , Moderator (new)

Rachel Jorquera  (racheljorquera) | 3017 comments Mod
Discussion!

message 2: by Tonya (new)

Tonya | 92 comments I'm finally reading a book of the month, during the actual month! :) I'm only up to page 115, but I'm really enjoying the writing and how easy it is to become totally involved in the story.

message 3: by Tom (new)

Tom Mathews Teri: "I don't see any discussion for this book. Does that mean no one read it?"

I'm also a newbie and that would be sad if this was all the interest this book generated. I have mixed emotions about the book. There really weren't any characters I warmed to but even so the book was so well written that by the end I knew and could empathize with almost all of them.

message 4: by Tom (new)

Tom Mathews teri wrote: " it could have used some editing during the Las Vegas section"

I rather enjoyed the part about Las Vegas. I suspect that Tartt was letting her inner easterner out and using it to express the view of the American West as a cultural wasteland. It also created an isolated environment that allowed to friendship between Theo and Boris to flourish. Finally, it is interesting to just ponder how I felt when I read the Las Vegas chapters compared to those when Theo was in New York. In comparison, New York seemed almost claustrophobic.

message 5: by Janina (new)

Janina (sylarana) I just finished it and truly loved it. I agree that it feels like it was written over a very long time, but then the book covers a rather long time in the life of the main character and to me it felt appropriate. I enjoyed the portrayal of both Vegas and NYC .. very interesting as I'm on the West Coast and know neither apart from short visits.