The Diary of a Young Girl The Diary of a Young Girl question

HOLOCAUST DENIAL AND ANNE FRANK
Sean Sean May 06, 2014 06:11PM
Recently, the school board in Rialto, CA began discussing a proposal that the historical truth of the Holocaust should be open for students to debate in the classroom.

I wanted to respond because as an educator, I have had some experiences similar to the events mentioned in Rialto, CA. For some time, I have been a teaching artist in Atlanta working mainly in upper elementary and middle school classes. The teaching artist concept is an interesting multi-disciplinary approach to education and it has been successfully modeled in school systems throughout the country. For a working artist who enjoys working with young people, its a great gig.

Essentially, the teaching artist and the classroom teacher work together to design the program. The classroom teacher outlines their specific learning goals for a particular unit and the teaching artist offers skills from their particular discipline to advance and hopefully enrich the instruction. A language arts unit is planned with a poet who provides students some guidelines for writing their own personal poetry. A theatre artist designs improvisations in a social studies class where the kids debate, frame and act out a bill of rights that works for their community. A nature writer works with an environmental science unit to encourage students to observe and express their impressions of the natural world.