Editors and Writers discussion

New freelance editor looking to get experience

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Gavin (new)

Gavin Wichmann | 5 comments Hey, my name is Gavin Wichmann, and I'm trying to break into book editing. I'm a graduating creative writing major with a few proofreading jobs under my belt, but I'm hoping to move further in the freelancing field.

I've been editing people's work for a few years now, from my many workshop classes to the website I wrote and proofread for. At this point I'm ready for something more.

If you have a work that you'd like to get looked over, try coming to me. I can edit it for grammar, or provide a practiced eye for content and development. Really, I'm up for anything, just give me a try.

My preferred genres would be fantasy/sci-fi, but I've read/edited things from many genres over the past couple years. Once again, I'm up for anything.

Prices will be discussed with me, but I won't be charging very much. I'm aware that I'm new to this field, so the price will reflect that. This is more for me to garner experience than it is to make money at this point.

If you're interested, just contact me on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/gavin.wichmann
If I'm successful enough I'll have website to contact me from, but this will do for now.

message 2: by Gavin (new)

Gavin Wichmann | 5 comments Joe wrote: "Hi Gavin,

I think it's a great thing that you are pursuing a career in editing and I would really like to support that if all is well.

I am currently revamping my first book. New covers, new blur..."

Thanks for responding so quickly Joe!

I'll email you back immediately to work out the specifics.

message 3: by Tony (new)

Tony Denn (tonydenn) | 3 comments Hi Gavin,

To what extent are you looking to edit people's work? Are you looking for people who need the full package (story, word choice, spelling, grammar, etc) or is it more line-editing?