Young Writers discussion

Realistic Fiction > The Absence Of

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Elliott Alicia  | 22636 comments Mod
Yay, I'm writing a book about Will from The Weight of All Things and it's set about four years in the future when Will is 23 years old and surprisingly enough there is not much of a plot.

I just have the first paragraph right now, but I am posting it here anyways.

If I were the kind of person who makes lists of things I hate, rainbows would be thing number one. The list would also include wine coolers and people who think Napoleon was French. I can avoid drinks with low alcohol content and I’m majoring in History. But my life choices have somehow led to my worst nightmare: Wednesday evenings filled with rainbows. Rainbow murals on the walls. Rainbow posters advertising special events. Rainbows on t-shirts with witty slogans underneath. Rainbow buttons, rainbow stickers, rainbow patches. Rainbow hair. It seems so unnecessary to me. Everyone gets it. Rainbows are happy and unique and gay. Everyone here is happy and unique and gay. And that’s great, I’m genuinely glad for every happy gay person that exists in the world. I just wish our symbol could be something a little less terrible.

message 2: by Isaac (new)

Isaac | 8014 comments IF YOU LISTEN CLOSELY YOU CAN HEAR ME SCREAMING

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

I feel like this one paragraph already made me feel the entire spectrum of human emotion so reading more of the story is gonna be a blast.

message 4: by Colby (new)

Colby (colbz) | 3211 comments *dies*

message 5: by Brigid ✩, No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. (new)

Brigid ✩ | 11973 comments Mod
OMG YAY AHH SO GOOD

I FINALLY finished the first chapter of this! So here it is.

https://www.goodreads.com/story/show/...

message 8: by [deleted user] (new)

I actually gasped when I saw that this had been updated! Brb reading all of it.