Audiobooks discussion

Do you prefer male or female authors/ narrators ?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 91 (91 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

This is a 2 part question :

In general, would you say you read more books written by male or female authors ?

And would you say you listen to , or prefer listening to , more male or female narrators ?

message 2: by Shirley (new)

Shirley (shirleythekindlereader) | 740 comments female
female

message 3: by Faith (last edited Mar 09, 2016 11:48AM) (new)

Faith | 943 comments I've wished for an an author breakdown by gender in my stats because I've been curious about this but too lazy to count. However my guess is that I read a lot more male authors than female ones.

I'm pretty new to listening to audio books, but since I generally prefer deeper voices, I expect that I will also prefer male narrators.

ETA I discovered that LibraryThing does keep stats on this. My breakdown is 70% male 30% female authors.

message 4: by Penelope (new)

Penelope | 170 comments About equally female and male authors, but I prefer male readers with upper class British accents, followed by male readers with good Russian accents, followed by male readers with young voices like the one that did Ready Player One, followed by male readers with raspy voices like R.C. Bray.

message 5: by Natalie (new)

Natalie (Haveah) | 178 comments In general, would you say you read more books written by male or female authors? I think I read more male authors. In my preferred favorite genres (SciFi and Fantasy)- the male authors tend to have more developed worlds, WITHOUT all that pesky romance. Not to say that there aren't good female authors, it's just hard to wade through all the supernatural romance stuff that is flooding the market right now.