What's the Name of That Book??? discussion

Suggest books for me > Non-Dystopic Sci-Fi

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stephen (last edited Mar 07, 2016 11:15AM) (new)

Stephen (havan) | 128 comments I recently came across a comment that lamented how Sci-Fi has generally been somewhat gloomy and/or dystopic with the notable exception of the Star Trek Novels.

I started to object but then, I couldn't really come up with any good examples. Does optimistic Science fiction exist? How can the author generate dramatic interest without a problem to overcome?

message 2: by Teri-K (last edited Mar 07, 2016 09:19AM) (new)

Teri-K | 302 comments I'm no expert, but dystopian fiction is "writing used to explore social and political structures in 'a dark, nightmare world.'" You can have conflicts and problems that aren't dystopic, which is generally dark and depressing, at least to me.

The first non-dystopian sci-fi that pops into my head is the Vorkosigan series by Bujold. Many of those books are just plain fun. There are interplanetary conflicts as well as inter-personal ones, but I wouldn't even begin to call them dystopic.
Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold is the first chronologically.

Then there's Douglas Adams' The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

message 3: by Nente (new)

Nente | 68 comments Right Teri-k, I was going to recommend the Vorkosigans too! If anything, Bujold is sometimes too optimistic: every hero is honourable, clever and attractive, now aren't they?

message 4: by Nente (new)

Nente | 68 comments I also can recommend Tales of Pirx the Pilot and The Cyberiad by Stanisław Lem. His novels are frequently rather dark, yes, but then his short stories more than make up for that.

message 5: by Teri-K (new)