Our Shared Shelf discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archive > Illiteracy and Bookshops

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kassel (new)

Kassel Garibay (kasselgaribay) | 30 comments Hi!
I am a high school student in Mexico and one of my projects this semester is to create a company that is able to provide a service in different countries in the world that we feel could impact society in a positive way.
We chose to create a marketing and advertising company for bookshops, in an effort to try and "revive" the book industry and fuel literacy. The main product of our company will be a series of comic books that are inspired in classics (Frankenstein, Pride and Prejudice, the Three Musketeers, etc) that end in cliffhangers, these comic books will be given out for free at bookstores in an effort to make people want to know how the stories end and buy the books.
The company will create a custom marketing strategy for the bookstores that hire it.
Could you guys give me some perspective on literacy in your countries/cities by answering to the following questions?

1. Do you prefer to read books in print or digital form?
2. Why do you think most people don't read?
3. What do you think is the best way to fight illiteracy?
4. What book made you fall in love with reading?
5. What books do you feel everyone should read?
6. Do you think that we should teach people how to read by making them read the "classics"?
7. Do you think that the printed book business is a dying business?
8. Do you have any comments on my project? Would you like to know more? Do you think this is a good idea?

I hope to hear from all of you soon! And if you are interested in collaborating in the project (we need artists, experts on literature, feminists and enthusiasts in general) please send me a message (: Have a great day!

message 2: by Kikki (new)