Hamlet Hamlet question

Authors and Authority
Jade Moore Jade (last edited May 01, 2014 12:47AM ) Apr 30, 2014 03:06PM
At the moment I'm studying the issue of the amount of authority an author has over their work and the relationship between author and reader.

An example taken from Hamlet, is that the text was based off another story, the idea that Shakespeare took to create Hamlet from. Also that he didn't make the decision to publish the play; it was published by others after his death and the text itself is based on performances, which may have been different from what Shakespeare will have originally wrote, e.g if players got a line wrong, or missed a line, but it still got noted down for the text, then this means what is taken to be Shakespeare's text, isn't entirely his?

These are the kind of issues and ideas I'm focusing on, in particular being on the side of the author and what rights they have over their text. (not just Shakespeare and Hamlet specifically, but authors and texts in general).

I'd just be interested in any other views or ideas that anyone could contribute to this.

Also the effect that knowing an author has on the reading and the meaning of a text. What does a text mean? If anything? Does it mean what the author says it means (if they say anything at all) or does it mean exactly what you read...? Readers opinions and interpretation having an effect on the overall reception of a text, separate from the authors intentions? Where does the author disappear?

"The birth of the reader must be at the cost of the death of the author." - Roland Barthes.

Anyone have anything to offer on this discussion? It is to help me with a presentation that I am working on.

Interesting topic.
These particular questions are mostly raised within the post-modernist literary traditon and timeframe.