Christian Theological/Philosophical Book Club discussion

The Forum - Debate Religion > How long was Jesus in the heart of the Earth?

Comments Showing 1-41 of 41 (41 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rod (new)

Rod Horncastle Oh no, another Bible error or contradiction. Or simply failed theology? Here's what we got to work with:

Matthew 12:40
For just as Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the great fish, so will the Son of Man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth.

I'm no history expert. But let's have a look: Jesus was Dead
Friday DAY, Saturday DAY, and Sunday a bit. Depending on where on the planet you are standing at the time.

Many hate this next challenge:
Friday NIGHT, Saturday NIGHT, and Sunday???? Oh No.

Although technically we can count Friday (2X): Mark 15:33
And when the sixth hour had come, there was darkness over the whole land until the ninth hour.

I know, not specific enough for some. Especially if Jesus died at the END of the Friday darkness. But even a few minutes of darkness count. This is theology: not Rocket science in a lab with a micrometer.

God likes to cut things to the edge of contradiction. This IS His game after-all.

message 2: by Lee (new)

Lee Harmon (DubiousDisciple) | 2112 comments You forget the most obvious contradiction: John's Gospel says Jesus died before Passover, and the Synoptics tell how he ate the Passover meal with his disciples.

message 3: by Rod (new)

Rod Horncastle Before Passover WHAT? BE specific Lee. Passover Week? A Passover dinner? The whole Passover festival in a town?

message 4: by Lee (new)

Lee Harmon (DubiousDisciple) | 2112 comments In the Jewish calendar, the day runs from dusk to dusk (6pm to 6pm). Passover commences with the Passover Seder which is celebrated at dusk, as 14 Nisan becomes 15 Nisan.