The Humour Club discussion

General > Is Britishness inherently funny?

Comments Showing 1-31 of 31 (31 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Nigel (new)

Nigel Cole | 24 comments All.

as a writer, I've often relied on the fact that being British is inherently funny. Monty Python, Fawlty Towers and a host of other Brticoms relied heavily on the fact that the stuffy British upper and upper-middle class have a natural absurdity to them in stark counterpoint to the 'cheeky chappy, downtrodden but philosophical' lower class/working class stereotypes'. Sandwiched between you have the social-climbing aspirational but generally idiotic lower middle and middle class.

But how well does this consistently class-based humour travel? Monty Python certainly did OK in the USA, but what about literary comedy? My own work is doing quite well 'stateside', but so far I have no feedback as to whether the humour really travels, My own comedy is character driven but not so much class-based, yet as soon as you have two Brit characters talking there's immediately a class element driving both camaraderie and conflict at some level.

So the question is, primarily for the non-Brits of course, how well do you think Britcom travels?

message 2: by Joel (last edited Mar 03, 2016 01:29PM) (new)

Joel Bresler | 1545 comments Mod
Air. Hair lair, Nigel (class/accent joke, for all the Yanks),
I suspect that Americans who appreciate your more language-based humor have at least some consciousness of class. We may not get all, or even many, of the subtleties of the county set, but we are at least aware of the difference between, say, Derek & Clive and someone who isn't.

message 3: by Nigel (last edited Mar 03, 2016 11:42AM) (new)

Nigel Cole | 24 comments Thanks for the air-hair-lair joke reminder Joel!! Not heard that in some time. The equivalent working-class accent one is
whale-oil-beef-hooked.
And Derek & Clive are an excellent example of what I'm talking about...