Medical Reads discussion

New? > Introduce Yourself!

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Maryam (new)

Maryam (surgeryresidentreads) | 4 comments Mod
Welcome, new members! Please stop in and introduce yourselves. We're looking forward to getting to know you.

If you don't know where to start, feel free to answer these questions:
- Where are you from?
- What kinds of books do you like to read?
- Do you have a medical background?
- Are you a student?
- How did you find our group?

message 2: by Maryam (new)

Maryam (surgeryresidentreads) | 4 comments Mod
Kitty wrote: "Hello! I like reading non fiction books and thought this group sounded interesting. I am a student of religious studies and I'm currently writing an essay on euthanasia. I'm quite interested in the..."

Hi! Glad to have you part of the group. One of my main reasons for forming this group was to have a place to discuss the ethical side of medicine! Looks like you have quite a few book suggestions on this topic. Are you using any specific books as reference material for your essay on euthanasia?

message 3: by IC (new)

IC | 3 comments Hi, everyone, I have a medical background and have recently stumbled upon Me Before You and Still Alice books; my previous 'medical' fiction was The Fault in Our Stars. Are there any more works out there of similar depth and quality?? Thanks, IC

message 4: by Jeffrey (last edited Mar 13, 2017 10:01AM) (new)

Jeffrey Hatcher | 1 comments Greetings,
I am interested in communicating with future psychiatrists, esp. the ones who have not yet decided on that track in life. I have a PhD in physical anthropology. I also have a PhD in falling over and convulsing. I have authored a book explicitly targeting premeds and meds (http://eac.eu.com/epilepsy-hatcher/) in hopes of interesting them in the science and practice of epileptology.