Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > Beta Reader/Copy Editor For Most Genres

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lindsay (LindsayHWrites) (last edited Mar 02, 2016 04:14PM) (new)

Lindsay (LindsayHWrites) (lindsaymhreads) | 9 comments Hello! I'm new to the group. :) My name is Lindsay and I am a current university student. I'm looking for experience and, hopefully, recommendations on LinkedIn. I am trying to build my resume and gain endorsements on LinkedIn so that I will have a better chance at a career in editing and publicity once I graduate in December.

I write for www.fullofbooks.com, which is a review blog for any genre outside of erotic fiction, and am part of the Goodreads and BookTube communities. Due to my experience in those areas as well as my English and Communications courses at university, I've had a lot of experience with literature. I have also had internships at newspapers and the like, working as a copy editor.

As far as the beta reading goes, I will take on as many requests as possible, but it will depend on the time of year insofar as my coursework will have to come first. I will try to stick to timelines if given, but I reserve the right to turn down projects if my workload is too great. My preferred genres are young adult fiction (any subgenres), historical fiction, fantasy, paranormal and contemporary/chicklit.

If possible, a page or two preview or at least a page/word count and a bit of information about the story would help to give me an idea of how long it would take to read through and write a response. I'd also like to be given a brief idea of exactly what you're looking for. Otherwise I'll just use the sort of template I use in order to give feedback. If you have a timeframe in mind, let me know. If you're interested, I can pass on my email if I have time to take on additional requests :)