Jesus Freaks for Writers discussion

Writing Feedback > Ashley D.'s Writing

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Anne (new)

Anne Caitlin (annebcaitlin) | 74 comments Hi this is Ashley! I hope I started this thread right ;)
This is my first time really going public about my writing-- and as I'm a beginner writer and have never published anything yet, all advice is welcome!
I'm glad to be a part of this group (I think it's awesome!!!!

message 2: by Anne (new)

Anne Caitlin (annebcaitlin) | 74 comments So here's a section of my medieval book! I don't have a name for it yet, but here it is! ;)

And Mandilaian slowly drew an arrow out of his quiver... Noiselessly drawing it against the bow, he sighted-- and loosed. THWUNG! Animei swung around seconds before the arrow reached the tree by which he had been quietly tracking.
With a yell, Animei jerked his sword out of its scabbard and charged.
Dropping his bow, Mandilaian raised his sword gracefully into the air and met Animei's with a mighty CLANG.
BASH CRASH BANG CLANG! They whirled around each other, fighting for the advantage and testing for weak spots. Right, left, top, side, thrust, right, left, top, side, thrust; Mandilaian followed the patterns he had been taught as a wee lad.
Animei was certainly an experienced swordsman, but not as seasoned as Mandilaian. His sword whirled through the air-- did Animei have a weak spot there, on his side? He left the pattern for a brief instant, thrusting to his left side. Animei halted for half a heartbeat in surprise but whirled his sword up in a circle just in the nick of time, throwing Mandilaian's sword upwards. Then he thrust quickly, hoping to get under his guard.