Support for Indie Authors discussion

Hannah Davenport
This topic is about Hannah Davenport
Archived Author Help > Smashwords

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Hannah (new)

Hannah Davenport I hope I have this in the right folder. I've had my book in the Kindle Select Program and decided to try other avenues. I've never used Smashwords before so I set up an account, uploaded my book, and everything went great! I decided to change my book synopsis, and didn't touch the book contents. Now it's telling me there are problems. Anyone else run into this? How did you fix it? Thanks!

message 2: by Ken (last edited Mar 02, 2016 06:48AM) (new)

Ken Doggett (kendoggett) What problems? Is it with the interior? I uploaded a file for my book to correct some typos and change the bio, and although it was the same file as before, it was flagged for problems. Turns out there was one scene where I had failed to justify the margins, and somehow that made the line spacing erratic. I don't know how it passed the first time, so maybe it's a little stricter than before, but I'm glad it was flagged so I could fix the problem, which, unknown to me, also affected my paperbacks and hardcovers.

By the way, you can download the EPUB version from Smashwords and run it through a validator at http://validator.idpf.org/

It'll tell you if you have a good EPUB file. Sometimes it lists spurious errors that are hard to identify, and which don't affect the format, but sometimes it'll specify the problem for you.

You can look at the EPUB yourself by downloading the free Adobe Digital Reader, if you're reading on a desktop or laptop. I'm not sure about iPhones, Androids, and such.

message 3: by J.J. (new)