Endicott Mythic Fiction discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Like Water for Chocolate > Like Water For Chocolate: Who's Reading? / Discussion

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Odette (last edited Feb 29, 2016 07:58PM) (new)

Odette | 316 comments Mod
The March 2016 book is Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel.

Anyone reading/rereading?

message 2: by Odette (new)

I read this one years ago, right after the movie came out. I remember liking it a lot - and wishing I was a good enough cook to try out the recipes.

I sometimes get this story confused in my mind with scenes from the Spanish Garcia Lorca play, The House of Bernarda Alba, because both have rather awful, domineering mothers who thwart the happiness of their daughters. (Bernada Alba is a lot grimmer, though.)

message 3: by Mary (new)

Mary Catelli | 11 comments I might. 0:)

It will be a re-read.

message 4: by Jalilah (new)

Jalilah | 132 comments I read it years ago and Loved it! The movie is one of my all time favourites and I've watched it multiple times. It's one of the very few filmings of a novel where I actually think they did a great job and made it just as good as the book. Maybe it helps that the director was the authors husband!

message 5: by Terri (new)

Terri (terrilovescrows) | 29 comments I loved this book and movie! I was so frustrated with the mother and wanted to scream at her - mothers should WANT their daughters to be happy.

message 6: by Odette (new)

Jalilah wrote: "I read it years ago and Loved it! The movie is one of my all time favourites and I've watched it multiple times. It's one of the very few filmings of a novel where I actually think they did a great..."

I didn't know that he was her husband. How interesting! I'd love to see the film again, too.

message 7: by Odette (new)