On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft On Writing question

Your thoughts?
Toni M.Ed. Toni Feb 29, 2016 12:06PM
This book helped me tremendously as a writer, along with others on the craft. Tell me your favorite books on writing and why?

I took King's advice and picked up the little reference book he mentions in On Writing, The Elements of Style. Hugely helpful!

I have read very few 'how to write' books; in fact On Writing might be the only one. I've read it three or four times over the years and have found it enormously helpful. In particular, it helped me to 'let go' of trying to plan out everything in advance, which, unlike Shawn above, works for me just fine. All the plotting and planning and preparation is creatively stifling to me. I can now happily start writing a novel with only a vague idea of where I'm going, solidifying my ideas as I go along.

As a horror writer, I know my protagonist will have to deal with whatever evil creature or situation I'm throwing at him at some point, but I have no idea how he will achieve this when I start out. So far my protagonist has always managed it, often in an unexpected way. Without Stephen King's On Writing I would probably be buried under a heap of notes somewhere without having actually written anything!

Shawn (last edited Mar 01, 2016 07:07PM ) Mar 01, 2016 07:05PM   0 votes
Frankly, I'm not a big fan of "how to" books. I think the best way to be a writer is to read books, then just write. Develop your own style. I guess I'm a believer in just doing something instead of reading up on it endlessly and never taking the plunge.