Upcoming Authors discussion

Suggestions/Questions > I'm an established full-time author - willing to answer questions if you have them

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michael (last edited Feb 27, 2016 02:17AM) (new)

Michael (michaeljsullivan) | 7 comments Title pretty much says it all. I'm willing to answer questions on aspects of writing and publishing. To give you some perspective:

* I've written 29 books, published 10, and have 5 finished and working through their time in the publishing queue.

* I've been published by two of the big-five (8 books with Machete, 4 books with Penguin Random House)

*I've self-published 8 titles and sold more than 90,000 books

* My total English language sales are around 750,000. I've also had about 65 titles released into 12 languages.

* My books have appeared on more than 150 best-of or most-anticipated lists

* I've run two Kickstarters both very successful. The first one ended up 8th highest funded fiction project in the US, and the second was the 3rd highest funded, but when adding on "post Kickstarter" pre-order sales it hit #2.

*I've taught courses for Writer's Digest and have been a host of Hide and Create (a writer's podcast).

So, if you have questions, I'll try to do my best to answer them.

message 2: by Segilola (new)

Segilola Salami (segilolasalami) | 8 comments Hiya,

Thanks for your post. How do you get sales? What marketing techniques did you use that you saw an actual ROI?

message 3: by Michael (new)

Michael (michaeljsullivan) | 7 comments The things I concentrated most (in the early days) were.

* Bloggers
* Goodreads