Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book Issues > Will have info to share....

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Elaine (new)

Elaine | 27 comments I am a librarian and stumbled upon a bit of a mess. It appears that Angela Sheehan and Angela Royston are both children's book authors that worked together, and actually worked on the same books, albeit different editions. Ms. Royston worked on later editions that had the same titles and cover art as Ms. Sheehan's work, but with different content aimed at a different age group. It is a complex situation that I am working directly with Ms. Royston on to try to attribute the editions to the correct author.

I will have a fair amount of email with Ms. Royston that should probably be kept to backup the changes I will be making to the entries for both authors, with her help. How would you like me to proceed?

message 2: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

rivka | 41973 comments Mod
While they are separate people, it sounds like the situation should be dealt with similarly to one author with two pen-names.

https://www.goodreads.com/help/show/4...
In some cases, a book may be originally published under a pen name, but then later reissued under the author's original name. When this happens, the author listed for any and all editions should be the author name the book was originally published under - so the reissued edition would need its primary author name changed to the originally published pen name, with the additional name added as secondary for all editions with it on the cover. Doing this will allow the various editions to be combined.

It is a good idea to post all relevant information from such private discussions in this group before making any major changes, both for purposes of documentation, and to double-check your proposed edits with other librarians.

message 3: by Elaine (new)