Around the Year in 52 Books discussion

Pride and Prejudice
This topic is about Pride and Prejudice
Archives > Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Mariana (mc_rogue) | 28 comments "It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife."

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen's witty comedy of manners--one of the most popular novels of all time--that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.

Plan: week 37, a book that you've seen the movie but haven't read.

Jessie Wolf | 10 comments I studied an extract of this for an exam I took so decided to read it for week 10. I really enjoyed it, even though it's not something I'd usually read

Rachel A. (abyssallibrarian) | 2672 comments I really love this book. It is one of a few classics that I've read more than once. I loved the characters and especially Austen's writing style. And what an amazing opening line!

Aglaea | 374 comments I love this. Love.

Michelle (mich2689) | 476 comments I'm reading this right now and I'm loving it! Who said Classics are boring? I'm chuckling throughout. Austen is so witty and the characters really do come alive.

Emily (emilyesears) | 412 comments I have now read this 3 times and I love it!! I also listened to the In Want of a Wife podcast while reading it this past time and I enjoyed it a lot. There's so much to find in it.

message 7: by Kirsten (new) - added it

Kirsten  (kmcripn) Love, love, love Jane Austen!

Anastasia (anastasiaharris) | 1331 comments I have started reading this for my Discard Challenge. a book that was popular in the 2016 challenge.