Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Marketing No New Posts > New author seeking guidance on Kindle Select

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Cynthia (new)

Cynthia Fain | 2 comments I seek comments on the much covered topic of whether to use Kindle Select on Amazon.com. I have my first book out on Kindle, very soon to come out on POD on Create Space. I am weighing the pros and cons of having people do all these free downloads of my Kindle book - and wonder if that would take future sales from my paperback version of the same book. I am just getting started and need "exposure" but want to take the best path. What have other new Indie authors experiencedMystical Animals of Ancient Oak

message 2: by Heidi (new)

Heidi Angell (heidiangell) | 241 comments Just because someone downloads it for free, doesn't mean they will read it, let alone review it. I have found that selectively giving my book away on Goodreads, my website, and other groups has been far more valuable than using KDP and I am more likely to get a review because that is the point of the programs.

I prefer having the ability to diversify my exposure. I publishing on Kindle and Smashwords (which is technically only for e-book, but they let you add the link to your paperback and then distributors like Barnes and Noble will pick up both.) Smashwords distributes to 13 other distributors such as B & N, Apple Ibooks, Scribed, Oyster and Baker & Taylor.

I also select worldwide distribution on Createspace for my paperbacks.

I personally find that I get more sales on Smashwords, but it is probably because I spend more time marketing with my Smashwords link.

I know that there are other authors who swear by KDP, and I will let them weigh in on why they think it is preferably. I also know many authors who were once making very good money through KDP have seen their sales numbers drop drastically in the last year.

message 3: by Cynthia (new)